Missing…

Some time ago, I posted my grandmother’s essay about the figurine painting that went on on her back porch. Reading it I remembered the figurines she painted, especially “Top of the Hill” and the seated lady with the roses. Since then I have scoured both my mother’s house and mine in an unsuccessful attempt to locate them so that I could post pictures of what she described for you.   I’ve not given up, but I’m still looking.

My grandmother was interested, involved and proficient. She had a penchant for perfection and was not satisfied with less. Whether she was knitting, crocheting, quilting, appliqueing, cooking, canning, ironing, trimming bushes, entertaining, playing cards, whatever it was, she threw herself into it wholeheartedly.

I think that was the secret of her good nature. She lived each day as if it were the only one.

Leave a Reply

